Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony is one of the greatest pieces ever written. His final symphony, it is a grand statement from a visionary composer, and even if the nickname wasn’t Wolfgang’s own, the wonder, awe and complexity of the work perfectly bears the name of the king of the Roman gods.

Completed in 1788, Mozart’s final symphony followed hard on the heels of his greatest operas: The Marriage of Figaro, Don Giovanni, and Così fan tutte. The overture to Don Giovanni bristles with passion and intrigue, foreshadowing the dramatic tale to come – extraordinary considering Mozart wrote it the night before its premiere! Around the same time, Mozart wrote his Piano Concerto No.23. A beloved staple of the piano repertoire, we are fortunate to have internationally renowned fortepiano soloist Neal Peres Da Costa perform for us.

The third piece in this program dates from a decade before the others, and we get a glimpse of a very different Mozart. Barely 20 and the musical star of the Salzburg court, he wrote the Serenata Notturna as a piece for evenings, possibly to be performed outside, among all the other stars.

There is an openness of creativity and musicality…

Sydney Scoop, 2021

Other programs in the Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra series:

Northern Serenades – Wednesday 23 March
Sounds of Vienna – Wednesday 15 June
Subscribe to all three

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

Details correct at the time of publication.

  • Mozart
    Overture to Don Giovanni, K.527
    Piano Concerto in A major No.23 K.488
    Serenade No.6 in D major, Serenata Notturna, K.239
    Symphony No. 41 in C major, K.551, Jupiter

  • Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra

    Rachael Beesley
    Neal Peres Da Costa