Skip to main content

2023 Season

The Australian Brandenburg Orchestra's 2023 season is centred around exploration and unearthing musical gems, as well as showcasing musicians who are equally fascinated by the past and the future of their chosen period instruments. The highlights are plentiful.

These include the dramatic opening concert series featuring the remarkable Baroque cellist Elinor Frey; the masterful young Baroque violinist Théotime Langlois de Swarte in series four; and violin virtuoso Leila Schayegh, whose expressive playing is poetry in motion that will on display in series five. These artists are all making their Australian debuts with the Brandenburg. The season spans many moods and emotions, with the mystic musicians of Turkey and the Whirling Dervishes unfurling their splendour next winter for series three. 2023 is truly a cultural feast that leads up to the beloved annual performances of Noël! Noël! in December.

Explore the Brandenburg's 2023 season in their digital brochure here

Single tickets are on sale from Wednesday 11 January 2023. 

Spanish Steps 

Fri 24 February - Fri 10 Mar

Meet us at the world’s most famous staircase, the Piazza di Spagna, in this spectacular concert starring leading Canadian-American cellist Elinor Frey in her Australian debut.

READ MORE

Vivaldi Unplugged

Fri 28 April - Fri 5 May

Thrilling. Rocking. Epic. The Brandenburg brings two of Vivaldi's masterpieces roaring to life in an imaginative, stirring concert for a new generation. 

READ MORE

Ottoman Baroque

Fri 21 July - Sat 29 July

The Whirling Dervishes of the Sufi Mevlevi Order from Konya, Turkey join the Brandenburg onstage, culminating in a pasticcio inspired by the meeting of Baroque worlds.

READ MORE

The Lover

Fri 1 September - Sat 16 September

Rising French star Théotime Langlois de Swarte makes his Australian debut in a sensual, beautiful and explosive pasticcio curated by Théotime and Paul Dyer.

READ MORE

Poet of the Violin

Fri 27 October - Fri 3 November

Making her Australian debut, Leila Schayegh takes the stage as Guest Director to lead the Brandenburg in a program of Baroque masterworks from JS Bach, Leclair and Zelenka.

READ MORE

    

Noël! Noël!

Sat 9 December - Thu 14 December

This much-anticipated annual tradition encapsulates the ebullient and open-hearted spirit of the Brandenburg. Filled with timeless carols and many musical surprises.

READ MORE