Skip to main content

An ensemble of passion and virtuosity

“One of the greatest chamber orchestras in the world.” The Guardian, UK

The Australian Chamber Orchestra is renowned for inspired programming and unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality. Its unique programming spans six centuries, spanning popular masterworks, adventurous cross-artform projects and specially commissioned pieces.

Founded in 1975, the string ensemble comprises leading Australian and international musicians and a growing company of dedicated young players. Outstanding Australian violinist Richard Tognetti has been at the helm since 1989, expanding the Orchestra’s national program, spearheading regular international tours and transforming the ACO into a vibrant ensemble that has become famous around the world.

2019 Season

Moving seamlessly through experimental collaborations, celebrated classics and music by some of the most revered and innovative composers of today, ACO 2019 is a multi-sensory journey that pushes the very concept of a ‘chamber orchestra’ to new heights.

Arvo Pärt & JS Bach

Sat 2 February 7pm, Tue 5 February 8pm, Wed 6 February 7pm, 2019

The famed Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir join Richard Tognetti and the Orchestra for a concert that will reach celestial heights.

Buy Now

Beethoven & Prokofiev

Tue 12 March 8pm, Wed 13 March 7pm, Fri 15 March 1.30pm, Sat 16 March 7pm, 2019

Fiery Italian violinist Lorenza Borrani returns as Guest Director in a concert of emotionally-charged music from Prokofiev and Beethoven.

Buy Now

Branford Marsalis

Sat 18 May 7pm, Tue 21 May 8pm, Wed 22 May 7pm, 2019

The American saxophone virtuoso makes his ACO debut in a Latin American jazz inspired program directed by ACO Principal Violin Satu Vänskä.

Buy Now

Indies & Idols

Tue 25 June 8pm, Wed 26 June 7pm, Fri 28 June 1.30pm, Sat 29 June 7pm, 2019

Compositions from Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, The National’s Bryce Dessner, and Sufjan Stevens presented alongside some of their shared musical influences: Polish composers Szymanowski and Lutosławski.

Book Now

Luminous

Sat 17 August 7pm, Tue 20 August 8pm, Wed 21 August 7pm, Fri 23 August 1.30pm, 2019

Ten years since its last performance, the ACO bring back their ground-breaking musical and visual collaboration with photographer Bill Henson, revived and refreshed with singer-songwriter Lior.

Book Now

Celebrating Mozart

Thu 12 September 7pm, Tue 17 September 8pm, 2019

Pianist Dejan Lazić reunites with old friend Richard Tognetti for a celebration of Mozart’s symphonies and concertos.

Book Now

Intimate Bach

Sat 19 October 7pm, Tue 22 October 8pm, Wed 23 October 7pm, Fri 25 October 1.30pm, 2019

Richard Tognetti is joined by Brett Dean, Erin Helyard and ACO Principal Cello Timo-Veikko ‘Tipi’ Valve for a celebration of Bach’s genius.

Book Now

Brahms & Dvořák

Sat 16 November 7pm, Tue 19 November 8pm, Wed 20 November 7pm, Fri 22 November 1.30pm, 2019

An exuberant end to ACO’s 2019 concert season, featuring Brahms’s Double Concerto, performed by Richard Tognetti and ACO Principal Cello Timo-Veikko Valve, and Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony.

Book Now