Skip to main content

Pinchgut Opera rediscovers operatic masterpieces from the 17th and 18th centuries. The creative team, led by Artistic Director Dr Erin Helyard is driven by both musical excellence and academic rigour. Pinchgut has a special relationship with its audience and that is the cornerstone of its approach. Other companies present the more familiar operas excellently; Pinchgut is about discovering a new operatic experience. Pinchgut Opera is justly proud of its outstanding and sustained critical success.

VIVALDI’S FARNACE

Wed 4 December 7pm, Thursday 5 Dec 7pm, Sat 7 December 2pm, Sun 8 December 5pm, Tues 10 December 7pm, 2019
This was one of Vivaldi’s most meticulously prepared operas, with orchestral colour and dramatic characterisation combined in one of his greatest theatrical triumphs. Pinchgut Opera have assembled some of the world’s finest voices to bring these characters to life and showcase Vivaldi’s thrilling tunes.

Book Now

MÉDÉE BY CHARPENTIER

Thu 18 June 7pm, Sat 20 June 2pm, Sun 21 June 5pm, Tue 23 June 7pm, 2020
Médée’s passion for Jason turns to murderous fury when he shifts his attention to a younger woman. Is there anything she won’t do to get her revenge? 
Charpentier’s sensual lyricism and dramatic insight take us deep inside the mind and heart of this terrifying woman who refuses to be a victim – even at the cost of her own flesh and blood. 

BOOK NOW

PURCELL AND CHARPENTIER IN CONCERT

Sat 12 September 7pm, Sun 13 September 5pm, 2020
Music fit for royalty: Charpentier’s majestic Te Deum was written in honour of the Sun King, Louis XIV, and its grandeur and elegance reflect the magnificence of his palace at Versailles. Across the Channel, written just one year later, Purcell’s Come, Ye Sons of Art celebrates the birthday of Queen Mary with music of sheer delight.

BOOK NOW

RINALDO BY HANDEL

Thu 3 December 7pm, Sat 5 December 2pm, Sun 6 December 5pm, Tue 8 December 7pm, Wed 9 December 7pm, 2020
In this magical tale of chivalry and cunning, the knight Rinaldo battles the scheming sorceress Armida to rescue his beloved Almirena. This was the first Italian opera ever written for the London stage, and it catapulted the young Handel to fame and fortune with its brilliant display of arias, duets and orchestral effects, by turns ravishing and thrilling.

BOOK NOW