Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Selby & Friends return to the stage, back from the brink, after what seems like a long hiatus with a fascinating program celebrating composers who fought against the establishment and, in doing so, forged a courageous way forward for those that followed.

Formed in large part from a missed concert in 2021, this concert introduces the great American composer, Amy Beach, who wrote a strong rebuttal to comments made by Dvořák about women in music and who became a national symbol of women’s creative power. Dvořák’s first piano trio is an intimate view into the great composer’s favoured genre, and Ravel represents one whose own path fused modern elements with the baroque, classicism and jazz.

The brilliant and versatile cellist Clancy Newman is welcomed back from the US to join Australian icon Dene Olding and Artistic Director & pianist, Kathryn Selby, performing a Selby & Friends concert together for the first time since May last year.

2022 Season subscriptions are available through the Selby & Friends website.

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

  • Amy Beach
    Piano Trio Op.150 (1938)
    Antonin Dvořák
    Piano Trio No.1 in B flat major. Op. 21 (1875)
    Maurice Ravel
    Piano Trio in A minor (1914)

  • Dene Olding
    Clancy Newman
    Kathryn Selby