Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

This program started with an invitation to the fascinating French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras – a human vessel of his instrument’s soulful beauty, and a musician known for his sense of artistic adventure. He leapt at the chance to work with one of Australia’s musical treasures: Satsuki Odamura, a grand master of the koto – a plucked Japanese zither – resident in Sydney for more than 30 years. They welcomed one of Adelaide’s young stars, cellist James Morley, into the mix – a trio of passionate musicians inspired by the love of their instruments and an endless delighted curiosity for finding new sounds to play.

Such a gorgeous palette of colours and textures is inspiration for Australian composer Jakub Jankowski, who will create a brand-new trio for them, nestled amongst solo suites by Bach and Britten, traditional and modern works for koto, and a gleeful duo from Offenbach

"Queyras plays … with extraordinary clarity and silken grace"

The Times (UK)

"There was strength and athleticism to Odamura’s playing … akin to seeing the graceful poise of an Olympic fencer"

Limelight Magazine

"James seemed completely at one with his instrument"

  • JS Bach
    Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007
    Jakub Jankowski
    New Work*
    Robin Williamson
    Letter from a Stranger’s Childhood
    Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72
    Duo for Two Cellos in B-Flat Major, Op. 53, No. 1

    *World premiere performances. Commissioned for Musica Viva Australia by the Adelaide Commissioning Circle.

  • Jean-Guihen Queyras
    Satsuki Odamura
    Koto and Bass Koto
    James Morley