Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

JS Bach’s Double Violin Concerto is the glowing centrepiece of a Bach family reunion that celebrates this greatest of all musical dynasties. It is justly one of Bach’s most beloved works. It has a Largo of heart-stopping beauty in which the two soloists weave around one another rapturously. The chance to hear Richard Tognetti and Principal Violin Helena Rathbone perform this timeless masterpiece is a gift beyond price.

This reunion with JS’s forebears and children explores the vast span of genius comprised in one family, from ravishing arias to intricate orchestral works. The program closes with his famous son, Carl Philipp Emanuel, as our Principal Cello Timo-Veikko Valve performs his virtuosic and vivid Cello Concerto in A major.

This is an unmissable concert that reveals why many believe JS Bach to be the greatest, and most enduring, composer of all time.

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

Details correct at the time of publication.

  • JL Bach
    Suite in G major: Overture
    H Bach
     Sonata à 5 in F major
    JC Bach 
    Meine Freundin, du bist schön: Ciaconna “Mein Freund ist Mein”
    JS Bach 
    Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV1043
    JS Bach
    Cantata “Widerstehe doch der Sünde” BWV54: “Widerstehe doch der Sünde”
    JS Bach
    Cantata “Ich habe genug”, BWV82: “Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen”
    Mozart (after JC Bach)
    Piano Concerto No.12 in A major, K.414: II. Andante
    JCF Bach 
    Sinfonia in D minor: I. Allegro 
    JCF Bach 
    Die Amerikanerin: “Mein Herz fleucht ihr entgegen”
    CPE Bach 
    Cello Concerto in A major, Wq.172
  • Richard Tognetti 
    Director and violin 
    Anna Dowsley 
    Helena Rathbone 
    Timo-Veikko Valve 
    Erin Helyard 
    Harpsichord and fortepiano 

    Australian Chamber Orchestra