Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Musica Viva Australia is thrilled to present the internationally acclaimed Signum Saxophone Quartet in their debut Australian tour!

Having achieved cult status on instruments still rarely found in the concert hall, the group have become renowned for championing composers living and lost, while filling the world’s best venues.

In this ripper program, the Signums will be joined by Australian violinist Kristian Winther to premiere Jessica Wells’ new arrangement of Kurt Weill’s Violin Concerto: a daredevil work for the soloist, which also shows off the myriad colours of the saxophones.

With a meeting of top creative talents in a program spanning Bach to Gershwin, these concerts are like the best kind of fireworks – surprising, absorbing, and extraordinary. 

Winther shines in this piece, displaying a highly expressive tonal range.

The Guardian

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries
  • Bach
    Italian Concerto, BWV 971 (1735, transcr. Tochio)
    Violin Concerto, Op. 12 (1924, arr. Wells)
    Three Preludes (1926, arr. Signum Saxophone Quartet)
    Symphonic Dances from West Side Story (1960, arr. Dedenon)
    Caribe (1988, arr. Leitinger)
  • Blaž Kemperle
    Soprano Saxophone
    Hayrapet Arakelyan
    Alto Saxophone
    Alan Lužar
    Tenor Saxophone
    Guerino Bellarosa
    Baritone Saxophone
    Kristian Winther