Skip to main content

Due to continued uncertainty posed by COVID-19 restrictions in New South Wales, the Australian Chamber Orchestra's performances of Music of Healing from Saturday 28 August to Wednesday 1 September have been cancelled. 

The meditative nature of music helps us repair and renew by heightening our awareness, invigorating our senses and revealing the truth of our feelings. That is at the heart of Pēteris Vasks’ Vox amoris which is a journey through love and the full range of human expression.

Just as Vox amoris explores the depth of human experience, this concert examines our emotions and the fragility of mental health. Drawing from the experience of two friends dealing with difficult personal periods, Iain Grandage’s Black Dogs confronts uncertainty and darkness, before building into an almost funk-like affirmation of survival. Black Dogs features guitarist Slava Grigoryan who will also perform Albéniz’s famous Asturias in a special arrangement for guitar and string orchestra, before Pink Floyd’s Shine On You Crazy Diamond returns us to the delicate balance between inner and outer health, and the trust in light emerging from darkness.

Get $25 off your ticket purchase with Dine and Discover NSW

The NSW Government has launched Dine & Discover NSW to encourage the community to get out and about, to support dining, arts and recreation businesses that have been impacted by COVID-19. 

Use your Discover Voucher when booking over the phone or in-person at our box office to get $25 off your next ticket purchase.  

Terms and conditions can be found on the Service NSW app.

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

Details correct at the time of publication.

  • Haas
    String Quartet No.2, Op.7 “From the Monkey Mountains”: IV. A Wild Night (arr. Tognetti)
    Rothko Chapel: 5th Movement
    Pink Floyd
     Shine On You Crazy Diamond (arr. Tognetti)
    Asturias (Leyenda) (arr. guitar & strings)
    String Quartet No.2, Op.7 “From the Monkey Mountains”: III. The Moon and I (arr. Tognetti) 
    Anna Thorvaldsdottir
    Iain Grandage
    Black Dogs
    Pēteris Vasks
    Vox amoris
  • Richard Tognetti
    Slava Grigoryan

    Australian Chamber Orchestra