Skip to main content

Following the NSW Government’s updated COVID restrictions, the Sydney Symphony Orchestra have made the difficult decision to cancel the performances of Britten & Shostakovich scheduled for Wednesday 11 August and Thursday 12 August.

Britten created a dynamic between boldness and intimacy like few others. From his smaller ensembles to larger string arrangements, we can often hear this tension at play. It’s unmistakably Britten. Andrew Haveron leads with Principal Horn Ben Jacks, and globally renowned tenor Andrew Goodwin who both feature in Britten’s Serenade.

Rudolf Barshai’s arrangement of Shostakovich’s Tenth String Quartet for string orchestra adds depth to its most intimate moments and power to its most brazen.

Please note: The Sydney Symphony and City Recital Hall will continue to apply NSW Public Health Orders as they relate to ticketing and seating arrangements. As these Orders can change at very short notice, Sydney Symphony Orchestra will be allocating seats closer in time to concert dates than they have in previous seasons. This will allow us to maintain a COVID-19 safe environment. By purchasing tickets through City Recital Hall, the patron agrees for their data to be handed over to Sydney Symphony Orchestra for allocation purposes only, their data will not be used for any marketing purposes unless previously indicated.

Get $25 off your ticket purchase with Dine and Discover NSW

The NSW Government has launched Dine & Discover NSW to encourage the community to get out and about, to support dining, arts and recreation businesses that have been impacted by COVID-19. 

Use your Discover Voucher when booking over the phone or in-person at our box office to get $25 off your next ticket purchase.  

Terms and conditions can be found on the Service NSW app.

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

Details correct at the time of publication.

  • Britten
    Prelude and Fugue for 18 Solo Strings
    Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings
    Shostakovich arr. Barshai
    Chamber Symphony (after the String Quartet No.10)
  • Andrew Haveron
    Director and Violin
    Andrew Goodwin
    Ben Jacks