Skip to main content

This event has been cancelled and will not proceed as scheduled.

The ARIA Award-winning Tawadros brothers aren’t afraid to try new things. Challenging traditional musical forms, and pushing boundaries in metre and melody, this exciting program features original music by composer and oud virtuoso Joseph Tawadros. 

His works take inspiration from the Arabic modal system (maqam) and blend them seamlessly with elements of western classical, jazz, world, folk, and even metal and bluegrass.

From thrilling and furiously paced numbers to beautifully introspective and tranquil tracks, it is woven together by Joseph’s trademark lyricism and the striking contemporary musicality of his oud. 

He will be joined by his brother James Tawadros who plays an array of Arabic hand percussion that will add a thrilling new element in what promises to be a journey of genre and emotion.


Other events in the A Little Lunch Music series:

Brahms Horn Trio – Wed 13 Jan 12.30pm
An Enchanted Afternoon – Tue 16 Feb 12.30pm
Figaro for Winds - Australian National Academy of Music – Thu 25 Mar 12.30pm
Carnival of the Animals – Tue 20 Apr 12.30pm
Schumann's Piano Quartet – Fri 7 May 12.30pm
The James Morrison Quartet – Tue 15 Jun 12.30pm
Jacqui Dark is Alive and Well Living in Newtown – Tue 20 Jul 12.30pm
Ensemble Apex – Thu 5 Aug 12.30pm
Slava and Sharon Grigoryan - Our Place – Mon 20 Sep 12.30pm
The Kate Wadey Quartet – Tue 23 Nov 12.30pm
A Spotless Rose - Sydney Philharmonia Chamber Singers – Thu 16 Dec 12.30pm   


Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit www.health.gov.au for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

Details correct at the time of publication.

 

  • Joseph Tawadros
    Oud
    James Tawadros
    Percussion