Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Night time is a charged time, liberated from the routine of daylight duties. Perhaps that’s why composers seem to find life after dark so full of magic and possibility.

Schoenberg’s Transfigured Night is based on a poem by German poet Richard Dehmel and features an emotionally charged scene between two lovers. It opens with an extraordinarily atmospheric section that draws us into the layered weight of night.

Beginning at sunset, this vivid program of three brilliant chamber pieces captures the sensuous depth and drama of night, directed here by our Concertmaster Andrew Haveron, alongside mezzo soprano Anna Dowsley.

Mozart’s Serenata Notturna is classically elegant and entertaining. And Respighi’s rare jewel Il Tramonto is based on a poem full of changing colours, moods and delicate harmonies. Just like the sunsets for which it is named.

Make sure you’re part of this intriguing showcase of extraordinary music and talent at the City Recital Hall.

  • Mozart
    Serenata Notturna
    Il Tramonto
    Transfigured Night

  • Andrew Haveron
    Director and Violin
    Anna Dowsley
    Mezzo Soprano