Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Brace against a biting winter and feel the eruption of a summer storm in this inventive performance of Vivaldi’s masterpiece on period instruments.

Inspired by four sonnets depicting rustic scenes from the Italian countryside, Vivaldi’s concertos challenge musicians to create striking impressions of nature. The identity of the sonnets’ author is unknown, but Vivaldi’s ingenious instrumental rendering of the evocative Italian text has become universal. Brandenburg Concertmaster and Baroque violin soloist, Shaun Lee-Chen will create a bold and imaginative vision of Vivaldi’s masterful music.

Also on the program is Georg Philipp Telemann’s Water Music - a vibrant orchestral suite in ten vivid movements. This work evokes nautical images from a remote mythological past of wrathful sea gods, mischievous water nymphs and the rulers of the winds.

Details are correct at time of publication

  • Telemann
    Concerto for 4 Violins in G Major, TWV40:201
    Ouveture-Suite in C Major, Water Music, TWV 55:C3
    The Four Seasons Op.8 No.1-4
  • Artistic Director
    Paul Dyer
    Australian Brandenburg Orchestra 
    Baroque Violin
    Shaun Lee-Chen (Perth)