Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

AHE Reflects on a Year of Change

AHE is delighted to return to the City Recital Hall stage this December with a performance directed by Erin Helyard, "Australia's most engaging soloist" (Limelight Magazine). The program features Haydn's poignantly titled Symphony Tempora Mutantur (Times are Changed) along with Helyard performing Mozart's beautiful early Piano Concerto No.6 and Boccherini's Piano Quintet Op.57 No.3.

Haydn's Symphony No.64 Tempora Mutantur (Times Are Changed) is one of the few that he named himself. It takes its title from the well-known poetic Latin statement "Times are changed; we, too, are changed within them." It provides a fitting commentary on a most turbulent year.

The Ensemble will also perform Boccherini's beautiful and brooding Piano Quintet in E minor along with the Australian premiere of Johann Salomon's outstanding eighteenth-century chamber version of Haydn's Symphony No.64 for flute, strings and fortepiano.


Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols.

As a COVID-19 tracing protocol, we will require all patrons who enter the venue to check in via QR code through the Service NSW App at the entrance. Before you visit the venue, please download the Service NSW App to ensure your arrival at the venue is as smooth as possible:

All data will be stored securely and will be deleted after the mandatory 28 day period. 

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries


Details correct at the time of publication

  • Boccherini
    Piano Quintet Op.57 No.3 in E minor
    Piano Concerto No.6 in B flat major K. 238
    Symphony No.64 in A major Tempora Mutantur (Times Are Changed) arr. Salomon
  • Erin Helyard
    Guest Director and Fortepiano Soloist
    Skye McIntosh
    Artistic Director & Violin
    Matthew Greco
    Karina Schmitz
    Daniel Yeadon
    Melissa Farrow