Skip to main content

The prodigious melodic gifts of Elgar, Debussy and Tchaikovsky are on extravagant display in these works for string orchestra, deservedly among their most beloved pieces.

Elgar’s Introduction and Allegro is the composer at his most exhilarating, a meeting of powerful sonority and the warmth of his expansive melodies.

Debussy’s Danses for harp and strings were commissioned to demonstrate a new kind of harp. It didn’t catch on, but the delicate antique grace of this music features the harp at its most celestial and has captured listeners imaginations ever since. Tchaikovsky’s Serenade, a symphony in miniature, showcases the rich resonance of string orchestra to grand effect, with a centrepiece waltz of balletic grace and the thrilling Russian dance of its finale.

Details correct at time of publication


Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries
  • As a COVID-19 tracing protocol, we are collecting contact details for all ticket buyers at the point of purchase, including email addresses and phone numbers. Your information will be stored securely and only used for the purpose of COVID-19 contact tracing unless you have specified you also wish to receive promotional content.  
  • Elgar
    Introduction and Allegro
    Danses - Sacrée et profane
    Serenade for Strings
  • Violin-director
    Andrew Haveron
    Louise Johnson