Skip to main content

City Recital Hall 20th Anniversary Celebration

30 October marks the 20th anniversary of the opening of City Recital Hall, and to celebrate, we are throwing open our doors for a day of music and more, for anyone and everyone. Come along to sing your heart out as part of our popular Sydney Flash Mob Choir, or join a backstage tour to discover what we do behind the scenes to produce the magic that you see on stage. Discover the engineering and design that makes us the finest classical music venue in Sydney, with the best acoustics. Plus, experience a sumptuous hour of Bach at our lunchtime concert in our Ground Level Foyer.

Event Order

Venue open from 7am

Sydney Flash Mob Choir: 8am - 8.45am (Auditorium)

Backstage Tours: 9am – 11am. Register at the Ground Level Foyer from 7am, meet at the Ground Level Foyer for the tour, 9 tours available with a maximum capacity of 20 each. Each tour runs for approximately 35 minutes

Lunchtime Concert: Bach Akademie Australia, Artistic Director Madeleine Easton 12.30pm – 1.30pm (Ground Level Foyer) capacity 160

Presentation by City Recital Hall architect Andrew Andersons AO: 2pm – 3pm (Ground Level Foyer) capacity 160

No online registration required, however these events have limited capacity limits so turn up early to avoid disappointment.

Join us in the evening for our anniversary concert, We Are Twenty, curated by and featuring ARIA Award-winning Megan Washington.

Event details correct at time of publication  

  • Lunchtime Concert 

    J.S. Bach

    Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt, BWV 151: No.1, Aria ‘Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt’
    Soloists: Anna Sandstrom, Jessica Lee                                            

    Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Aria ‘Laudamus te’
    Soloists: Anna Sandstrom, Madeleine Easton

    Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Duet ‘Domine Deus’
    Soloists: Anna Sandstrom, Richard Butler

    Brandenburg Concerto No.5, BWV 1050: Movement III, Allegro
    Soloist: Neal Peres da Costa

    Himmelskönig, sei willkommen. BWV 182: Sinfonia
    Soloists: Madeleine Easton, Jessica Lee                         

    Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 140: No.4, Chorale ‘Zion hört die Wächter singen’
    Soloist: Richard Butler

    Brandenburg Concerto No.3, BWV 1048: Movement I, Allegro

    The Art of Fugue, BWV 1080: Contrapunctus I

    Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht, BWV 211: No.8, Aria ‘Heute noch, lieber Vater’
    Soloist: Anna Sandstrom                 

  • Madeleine Easton
    Julia Russoniello
    Shaun Warden
    Karina Schmitz
    Anton Baba
    Bonnita Williams
    Double Bass
    Neal Peres da Costa
    Anna Sandstrom
    Richard Butler
    Jessica Lee