Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Berlin-based violinist Jakob Lehmann leads an ensemble of specialist local and international chamber musicians through the expansive sounds and pioneering ideas of New Constellations. The Octet for Strings was written when Mendelssohn was just 16, and illustrates the transformation of performance techniques in the chamber music of the early-Romantic period. Brahms destroyed the nonet version of his Serenade, but based on archives and written accounts, Alan Boustead has brought this original chamber version back to life.

This was a radiant performance with the pared back texture allowing the many individual lines and unique colours of the specialised instruments and their players, to shine

Sounds Like Sydney 

Details are correct at time of publication

  • Mendelssohn
    Octet for Strings in E flat major
    Serenade No.1 in D major for Nonet
  • Guest Director
    Jack Lehmann
    Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra