Skip to main content

City Recital Hall is Closed in Response to COVID-19

Following instruction from the Australian Federal Government that mass gatherings are banned, City Recital Hall will be closed from Monday 16 March to Sunday 29 June, or until we are permitted to reopen. City Recital Hall's box office and admin office are closed to the public and a reduced team are working from home. We ask for patience during this time, and if you have any queries, please visit this page for all up-to-date information. 

We understand the closure will have great impact on the community, however, the health and well-being of our patrons, artists and staff is City Recital Hall’s highest priority.  

All cancelled performances are listed and updated below and City Recital Hall's Box Office will be issuing refunds automatically to affected ticket-holders. No action is required from patrons.

Ticket-holders who purchased tickets directly from concert presenters will be contacted by the presenter’s box office or representative. 

City Recital Hall is working with its presenters to reschedule cancelled events where possible. Ticket-holders for rescheduled events will be contacted directly once the arrangements are finalised. 

We recommend keeping up-to-date and following advice from the Australian Government Department of Health, particularly regarding isolation protocol and practicing good personal and respiratory hygiene. For the latest advice and information please go to www.health.gov.au, and for health enquiries please contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080.

Events currently cancelled

Mon 16 and Tue 17 Mar Encore presented by NSW Education Standards Authority in Association with NSW Department of Education 

Thu 19 Mar A Little Lunch Music: Figaro for the Winds - Australian National Academy of Music presented by Co-Artistic Directors Kathryn Selby AM and City Recital Hall 

Tue 24 Mar, Wed 25 Mar, Sat 28 Mar, Sun 29 Mar Arvo Part & Shostakovich presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra 

Tue 31 Mar Amanda Brown in Conversation presented by City Recital Hall 

Sat 4 and Mon 20 Apr Goldner String Quartet and Piers Lane presented by Musica Viva 

Tue 7 Apr University of Tasmania Sydney Graduation presented by University of Tasmania 

Thu 17 Apr A Little Lunch Music: Zeeko - The Whale and the Curlew presented by Co-Artistic Directors Kathryn Selby AM and City Recital Hall

Tue 21 Apr This Sounds Like Science: Secret Sounds of Space presented by City Recital Hall and Inspiring Australia 

Thu 23 Apr Getting Vocal with the Idea of North presented by City Recital Hall 

Wed 29 Apr Siri Hustvedt: I'm Still Writing for my Life presented by Sydney Writers' Festival 

Wed 29 Apr Bernardine Evaristo: Girl, Woman, Other presented by Sydney Writers' Festival 

Sat 2 May Dav Pilkey: The Do Good Tour presented by Sydney Writers' Festival 

Sat 2 May Truth 2, Lies 1: Crabb and Sales on Lying About Books presented by Sydney Writers' Festival 

Mon 4 May Let's Get Personal presented by Selby & Friends 

Wed 5 - Fri 15 May Mozart's Clarinet Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

Thu 7 May A Little Lunch Music: Ensemble Apex – Euro X presented by Co-Artistic Directors Kathryn Selby AM and City Recital Hall

Thu 7 May ASQ Plays Dvořák with Konstantin Shamray presented by Australian String Quartet 

Sun 17 May An Afternoon with Lady Glenconner presented by FANE, BBC Studios and Andrew Kay & Associates 

Thu 4 Jun A Little Lunch Music: The Morrisons presented by Co-Artistic Directors Kathryn Selby AM and City Recital Hall

Fri 5 Jun Love Stories presented by City Recital Hall

Tue 7 Jul This Sounds Like Science: Ecosystems in a Warming World presented by City Recital Hall and Inspiring Australian 

Events currently postponed (events intended to be rescheduled at a later date)

Thu 19 Mar Four Seasons Recomposed presented by Omega Ensemble 

Mon 23 Mar Elisabeth Leonskaja in Recital presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Wed 1, Thu 2 Apr Handel and Telemann presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra 

Fri 3 Apr Spyro Gyra presented by Abstract Entertainment 

Wed 8 Apr Buffy Sainte-Marie presented by City Recital Hall and Bluesfest Touring 

Tue 28 Apr Voyage of Musical Discovery Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra

Thu 30 Apr Mauthausen and Other Songs of Humanity presented by City Recital Hall and The Greek Orthodox Community of NSW

Sun 10 May The Creation presented by Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra

Mon 18 May Jonathan Biss in Recital presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra 

Fri 29 May Augie March: Sunset Studies Live presented by City Recital Hall 

Sat 30 May Paul Kelly and Paul Grabowsky: Please Leave Your Light On presented by City Recital Hall

Wed 10, Thu 11 Jun Rebel, Gabrieli and Vivaldi presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra 

 

If an event you have tickets for is not listed above this means we are still awaiting instructions from the promoter and will notify ticket holders as soon as we have information. 

Updated 3 April 2020