Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

When Ross Edwards composed his first Ecstatic Dance in 1978, he discovered an idiosyncratic and kinetic way of writing. It was a formative moment, from which emerged the composers’ iconic and infectiously jubilant style that defined a generation of Australian classical music. In his 80th birthday year, Omega Ensemble gives the world premiere of a new Clarinet Concerto led by Artistic Director David Rowden.

An ode to the infectious spirit of rhythm and dance, this premiere work is accompanied and Phillip Glass’ epic Violin Concerto No. 2, performed by UK violin maverick Thomas Gould. Entitled The American Four Seasons, the legendary composers’ electrifying concerto is a visceral homage to the forces of nature, packed full of dizzying twists and turns, turbo-charged drive and heart-stopping intensity.

Visitor Safety Information

Before you arrive at City Recital Hall, familiarise yourself with our new venue protocols here.

Please do not attend this event if you are feeling unwell. If you have tickets and are no longer able to attend:

  • View our updated Terms & Conditions 
  • Visit for the latest advice and information about COVID-19
  • Contact the Coronavirus Information Line 1800 020 080 for any health enquiries

Details correct at the time of publication.

  • Jessie Montgomery 
    Ross Edwards
    Clarinet Concerto No. 2 [World Premiere]
    Philip Glass
    Violin Concerto No. 2, ‘The American Four Seasons’
  • Thomas Gould
    Guest Violin
    David Rowden