Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Croatian-born pianist Dejan Lazić rejoins Richard Tognetti and the Orchestra for a celebration of Mozart’s symphonies and concertos, capped by one of Mozart’s formative influences, Joseph Haydn.

Mozart’s Violin Concerto No.3 is one of Richard Tognetti’s calling cards, with his signature energy and crispness adored by audiences both here and overseas. Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.14 is full of invention and considered the first of his mature concertos. In this program, we hear it alongside Dejan’s original arrangement of the Allegretto grazioso from Mozart’s Piano Sonata K.333.

The program is bookended by two great symphonies: Mozart’s Symphony No.25 and the work that directly influenced it, Haydn’s Symphony No.39 ‘Tempesta di mare’. Mozart is known for his rigorous Classicism, but this symphony, instantly recognisable as the dramatic opening of Miloš Forman’s 1984 film Amadeus, is almost “romantic” in its power.

Like Mozart’s symphony, Haydn’s was written when the “Sturm und Drang” movement was strong, and its passion and drama still captivates audiences today.

Details are correct at time of publication

  • Haydn
    Symphony No.39 in G minor ‘Tempesta di Mare’
    (arr. Dejan Lazić) Rondo Concertante (Australian Premiere)
    Piano Concerto No.14 in E-flat major
    Violin Concerto No.3 in G major
    Symphony No.25 in G minor
  • Piano
    Dejan Lazić
    Director & Violin
    Richard Tognetti