Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Alessio Bax plays Mozart’s transcendent final piano concerto and Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony packs a punch with its unstoppable energy.

Mozart's final piano concerto stands apart for its sober perfection and innocent directness. Mozart ushers us into a world of feeling with murmuring strings and daringly wayward harmony. The concerto’s slow movement suspends time with a melody as serene as it is simple, played with disarming grace by Alessio Bax, a pianist who communicates the radiance of this music. This is one of the composer’s most personal utterances: inward-looking, nostalgic and songful.

And Beethoven releases his inner child in his fizzy Symphony No.8 – short, and seriously playful. Overshadowed by its bigger siblings, the Eighth is a cheekily radical work. Instead of a grand statement, this is the symphony as a bundle of vivacious comic energy.

Details are correct at time of publication

  • Mozart
    Piano Concerto No.27 in B flat, K595
    Symphony No.8
  • Conductor
    Andrew Haveron
    Alessio Bax