Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

'Among the most remarkable young pianists now before the public' – Alessio Bax has a poet’s sensitivity to nuance, intimacy and detail.

In a program drawn from three centuries, Alessio Bax performs music that finds his instrument dancing, thundering, praying and dreaming. He begins with baroque inspirations: Bach’s transcription of the Marcello oboe concerto with its heartbreaking central aria, Rachmaninoff’s fantastical and melancholy variations, and Dallapiccola’s ‘notebook’ for his eight-year-old daughter – a study in counterpoint and texture through a 20th-century lens.

Then Alessio Bax is our virtuoso guide for Liszt’s Italian wanderings: the delicate tracery of birdsong in the legend of St Francis, and the Dante sonata, which contrasts an unforgettable evocation of the inferno with beatific vision of heaven.

Details are correct at time of publication

  • JS Bach
    Concerto in D minor, BWV 974 (after Marcello)
    Corelli Variations
    Annalibera’s Musical Notebook
    St Francis of Assisi’s Sermon to the Birds, S175/1
    Dante Sonata
  • Piano
    Alessio Bax