Skip to main content
Buy Tickets

Drop in for City Recital Hall’s long running series of lunchtime concerts, A Little Lunch Music and spend your lunch hour listening to some of Australia’s finest musicians across musical genres. 

A surprising and delightful way to experience one of the most sublime operas of all time, this concert features Mozart’s immortal music from The Marriage of Figaro transformed into a beguiling work for wind ensemble. The superb playing of the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) musicians, led by ANAM Artistic Director Nick Deutsch, will be enhanced by the narration of actor Bethany Simons, whose vivid stage presence will ensure you always know which of Figaro’s many adventures the music is illustrating.

The Australian National Academy of Music is dedicated to the training of the most exceptional young classical musicians from Australia and New Zealand. It is a place where musicians fulfil their potential as music leaders, distinguished by their skill, imagination and courage, and by their determined contribution to a vibrant music culture.

Feel free to bring your lunch into the auditorium. Our Ground Level bar is stocked with a range of light meal options.

Take your pick from one (or all!) of the 12 events in our 2020 A Little Lunch Music series:  

Happy Birthday Beethoven – Tue 28 Jan 12:30pm

Elena Kats-Chernin In Conversation – Tue 25 Feb 12:30pm

Zeeko – The Whale and the Curlew – Thu 16 Apr 12:30pm

Ensemble Apex – Euro X – Thu 7 May 12:30pm

The Morrisons – Thu 4 Jun 12:30pm

Mucho Mambo – Thu 16 Jul 12:30pm

Beethoven’s Violin – Mon 10 Aug 12:30pm

Miriam Lieberman Trio – Thu 3 Sep 12:30pm

Guitar Trek – Tue 13 Oct 12:30pm

1984! The Musical! – Tue 24 Nov 12:30pm

Kristin Berardi and Sam Anning – Thu 17 Dec 12:30pm

Details correct at time of publication

 

  • Mozart
    The Marriage of Figaro arr. Wendt for wind octet
  • Oboe/Director
    Nick Deutsch
    Actor
    Bethany Simons
    Author
    Phil Lambert
    Featuring
    ANAM Musicians