A Taste of Omega: The Clarinet

City Recital Hall

A Taste of Omega: The Clarinet


Get to know the performers and instruments of Omega Ensemble, in our captivating lunchtime series, A Taste of Omega. Take time out from your busy day with exquisite chamber music performed by some of the finest musicians in the country.

The clarinet is an instrument of beauty and grace. Omega Ensemble’s Artistic Director and clarinetist will delight you with Stravinsky’s Three Pieces for Clarinet solo. These short monologues are among Stravinsky’s “biggest” little works and he composed them immediately after The Rite of Spring, drawing on aspects of jazz, tango and ragtime, making the clarinet sing and dance.

David is also joined by Maria Raspopova on piano to perform Brahms’ Sonata for clarinet and piano, French composer Messager’s Solo de Concours – a flashy and jubilant concert piece – as well as a world premiere of Miniatures by Australian composer Andrew Anderson.

An invigorating showcase demonstrating many facets of the eclectic clarinet repertoire.


Stravinsky Three Pieces for Clarinet solo
Brahms Sonata for clarinet and piano, Op.120, No.2
Messager Solo de Concours
Andersons Miniatures (World premiere)


David Rowden clarinet
Maria Raspopova piano

Duration: approximately 1 hour, no interval 
Feel free to BYO lunch

Other events in the A Taste of Omega series:

Ticket Info

All tickets $15

Details are correct at time of publication

Image: Bruce Terry

Performance Dates & Times

Wednesday 18 October, 2017
12:30 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets