Sitkovetsky Trio

Musica Viva

Sitkovetsky Trio

Compelling…with a palpable sense of elation” Gramophone

Three young virtuosi with countless solo prizes and achievements to their names: together, the music-making of the Sitkovetsky Trio is little short of miraculous. In their hands the piano trio becomes a miniature orchestra, making huge worlds of colour and texture from their personal, intimate musical format.

There is something utterly gorgeous about their performances: so vivid, it’s as though they are sharing their freshest, most delighted first impressions with their listeners. Following the ecstatic audience response to their 2014 debut tour for Musica Viva, the Trio was immediately invited to return.

Performing Rachmaninoff’s Trio élégiaque No.1 with its decidedly Russian flavour that finds a cousin in Shostakovich’s second trio, which likewise reflects on mortality, from its ghostly opening cello solo through to the emotionally wrenching danse macabre of the finale.

Australian composer Lachlan Skipworth drew on inspiration from a shakuhachi melody known as Pounding Wave that allows the Trio to grow organically through its three movements. Mendelssohn's Trio concludes with one of the showiest, most dazzling, life-affirming finales in the repertoire, it makes a perfect end to a thoroughly uplifting concert. This program progresses seamlessly from darkness to light in the hands of the stunning Sitkovetsky Trio.


Rachmaninoff Trio élégiaque No.1
Shostakovich Piano Trio No.2, Op.67
Skipworth Piano Trio*
Mendelssohn Piano Trio No.1, Op.49

*Commissioned for Musica Viva Australia by Julian Burnside AO QC


Alexander Sitkovetsky violin
Bartholomew Lafollette cello
Wu Qian piano

Ticket Info


Standard $105
Concession $91
City Recital Hall Member $94.50
Group (10+) $94.50
Under 30 $30


Standard $74
Concession $64
City Recital Hall Member $66.60
Group (10+) $66.60
Under 30 $30


Standard $50
Concession $44
City Recital Hall Member $45
Group (10+) $45
Under 30 $30

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at time of publication