Ravel Impressions

Omega Ensemble

Ravel Impressions

When Mozart composed his ‘Kegelstatt’ Trio in 1786, he may have been playing a game of Kegels – a popular leisure activity in Germany and all the rage in Vienna at the time. It was a form of lawn bowling in which players rolled a wooden ball down a path to knock over wooden objects we would call bowling pins. A landmark work of inspiring music, it was the first to use the combination of piano, viola and clarinet in a chamber setting.

Alongside this work is Ravel’s iconic and much adored String Quartet No.1, dedicated to his teacher, Fauré, who’s own trio was composed in the latter years of his life and displays a graceful lyricism alongside his unmistakable personal musical language. Omega presents a delicate and intriguing program, exploring the intricate shadings of these works in a playful and delightful performance that will leave you invigorated and spritely.


Mozart Trio in E flat major (Kegelstatt), K.498
Fauré Piano Trio in D minor, Op.120
Arensky Piano Trio No.1 in D minor, Op.32
Ravel String Quartet in F major 


Catalin Ungureanu violin
Airena Nakamura violin
Neil Thompson viola
Paul Stender cello
David Rowden clarinet
Maria Raspopova piano

Pre-concert talk: 6.45pm - 7.15pm

Duration: approximately 2 hours, including interval

Ticket Info


Standard $119
City Recital Hall Member $107.10

A Reserve

Standard $99
Concession $69
City Recital Hall Member $89.10
City Recital Hall Member Concession $62.10

B Reserve

Standard $79
Concession $69
City Recital Hall Member $79
City Recital Hall Member Concession $62.10
Under 30 $29
Secondary student $25

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at time of publication

Image: David Vagg

Performance Dates & Times

Thursday 16 November, 2017
7:30 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets