Mozart and Mendelssohn

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Mozart and Mendelssohn

A Mozart concerto and Mendelssohn’s sunny Italian Symphony in an orchestral concert brimming with optimism and high spirits!

Two of music’s most famous prodigies – Mozart and Mendelssohn – and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s youngest principal player, Todd Gibson-Cornish, are the stars in this sublime program. Mozart’s lively Bassoon Concerto exploits every side of the bassoon’s personality: virtuosity, humour and mellow eloquence. Mendelssohn’s popular Italian Symphony was literally a musical postcard from his Grand Tour in the 1830s. It’s vibrant music, brimming with charm – “blue sky in A major”. Against all this youthful exuberance stands the introduction to Strauss’s opera Capriccio: enchanting, atmospheric chamber music overheard by the characters on stage. 


Roger Benedict conductor
Todd Gibson-Cornish bassoon


R Strauss Capriccio: Sextet
Mozart Bassoon Concerto, K191
Mendelssohn Symphony No.4, Italian

Ticket Info


Standard $96


Standard $85
Concession $77
City Recital Hall Member $77
Group (8+) $68


Standard $75
Concession $68
City Recital Hall Member $68
Group (8+) $60


Standard $64
Concession $58
City Recital Hall Member $58
Group (8+) $51
Under 30 $42


This event is part of City Recital Hall's Venue Package. Purchase three or more concerts in one transaction and receive a discount. Find out more here.

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6.60, Phone $8.25.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

City Recital Hall and the Sydney Symphony Orchestra are the authorised ticket sellers for this event. City Recital Hall is under no obligation to honour tickets purchased via unauthorised re-sellers. If you attend an event with a ticket purchased via an unauthorised re-seller such as Ticketmaster Resale, Viagogo, Ticketbis, eBay, Gumtree, Tickets Australia or any other unauthorised seller, you may be refused entry to the event.

Details are correct at time of publication.