Morning Inspiration

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Morning Inspiration

Concertmaster Andrew Haveron pairs an early Haydn symphony with a ‘new’ double concerto by Mozart for the perfect early evening concert.

If you love Mozart’s gorgeous Sinfonia concertante for violin and viola, you’ll want to hear Andrew Haveron and Roger Benedict perform his String Quintet in G minor in a new arrangement for violin, viola and orchestra. This intensely felt chamber piece lends itself to all the dramatic possibilities of the concerto form. To begin, we’re playing the first instalment in Haydn’s ‘Times of Day’ trilogy – early symphonies named for morning, noon and night. In No.6, a musical ‘dawn’ transforms into a virtuosic showpiece, with sections of the orchestra taking turns to shine. You could almost hear it as a baroque concerto.


Haydn Symphony No.6, Morning
Mozart arr. Haveron String Quintet in G minor, K516, for violin, viola and orchestra


Andrew Haveron violin and director
Roger Benedict viola

Ticket Info


Standard $90


Standard $80
Concession $72
City Recital Hall Member $72
Group (8+) $64


Standard $70
Concession $63
City Recital Hall Member $63
Group (8+) $56


Standard $59
Concession $53
City Recital Hall Member $53
Group (8+) $47
Under 30 $39

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at the time of publication

Performance Dates & Times

Thursday 25 May, 2017
7:00 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets