Australian String Quartet


Slava Grigoryan, one of Australia’s favourite musicians, joins the Australian String Quartet in two works of contemporary sensibility, bringing his trademark virtuosity and lyrical warmth to the quartet.

Ralph Towner is a celebrated jazz guitarist and his quintet, Migration, inspired by the wild nature of America’s Pacific Northwest, blends the melodic and harmonic language of jazz with a classical sense of development.  

Australian composer, Iain Grandage, also traverses classical, jazz and popular styles in his work. His theatrical flair comes to the fore in this guitar quintet, contemplating the mind’s mystery and complexity in music of kaleidoscopic colour.

The poignant world of late Schubert forms the emotional apex of this concert. His final string quartet, in G major, is charged with the heartfelt emotion and eloquent lyricism that is the core of his genius. 


Ralph Towner Guitar Quintet Migration
Iain Grandage Guitar Quintet Black Dogs 
Schubert String Quartet in G major D887


Slava Grigoryan special guest, guitar

Duration: approximately 2 hours, including interval 

Ticket Info

Standard $85
Concession $62
Under 30 $30

Save when you purchase a subscription to all three Australian String Quartet 2017 performances at City Recital Hall. Find out more 

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at time of publication

Performance Dates & Times

Wednesday 31 May, 2017
7:00 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets