Mediterráneo: Music from the courts of Spain

Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

Mediterráneo: Music from the courts of Spain

Please note that this concert series was previously titled The Burning Violin, with Stefano Montanari. All previously issued tickets for these performances remain valid on the same date(s).

Sensational Spanish baroque violinist Daniel Pinte­ño and musicologists Raúl Angulo and Toni Pons have, in collaboration with Paul Dyer, prepared an utterly absorbing program that will showcase the richness of music from the Iberian Peninsula during the 18th century.

The 18th-century Spanish empire was defined by a sense of splendour, decadence and fearless exploration. This was Spain at the height of its political and commercial power with exotic ingredients, materials, fashion, art, and music flowing through the royal court. Spanish music at this time was developing its own bold and distinctive character which was influencing musical compositional style in broader Europe. The works curated for this concert will trace this magnificent evolution leading to the birth of a properly Spanish gallant style that became definitive of this time.

Mediterráneo: Music from the courts of Spain features several very rare Spanish baroque works including two Australian premieres and one world premiere, as well as two much loved concertos by Vivaldi.


Basset Overtura a piu stromenti Bas-9 in D major
Facco Concerto for violin Op.1 No.3 in E Major from Pensieri Adriarmonici
Vivaldi Concerto for flute Op.10 No.2 “La Notte”, RV 439 in G minor 
Lopez Sinfonia (1780)
Vivaldi Concerto for violin Op.3 No.9, RV 230 in D major from L’Estro Armonico
Avison Concerto grosso Op.6 No.6 in D Major (after Scarlatti) (Mov’t 1&2)
Brunetti Sinfonia in C minor, L. 322 Il Maniatico


Paul Dyer Artistic Director 
Daniel Pinte­ño (Spain) Guest Director, baroque violin 
Melissa Farrow baroque flute 
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

Duration: Approximately 2 hours, including one interval. (Subject to change)

Ticket Info


Standard $175


Standard $145
Concession $96*
Senior $131*
Under 30 $67


Standard $115
Concession $76
City Recital Hall Member $104
Senior $104*
Under 30 $53


Standard $85
Concession $56
Under 30 $39


Standard $55


Standard $30

*Matinee concert only 

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6.60, Phone $8.25.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

City Recital Hall and Australian Brandenburg Orchestra are the only authorised ticket sellers for this event. City Recital Hall is under no obligation to honour tickets purchased via unauthorised re-sellers. If you attend an event with a ticket purchased via an unauthorised re-seller such as Ticketmaster Resale, Viagogo, Ticketbis, eBay, Gumtree, Tickets Australia or any other unauthorised seller, you may be refused entry to the event.

Details are accurate at the time of publication