Australian String Quartet


A spirit of youthful exuberance and boundless confidence energises this concert. Rejuvenated by his time in America, Dvořák’s return to his native Bohemia was a joyful homecoming, inspiring a flood of musical ideas in his G major String Quartet.

Arriving in America in his late twenties, Benjamin Britten enjoyed a sense of supreme confidence as a composer. In his String Quartet No.1, he sets out to impress in a work that abounds in joie de vivre and originality.

In his second string quartet, Australian composer, Paul Stanhope, evokes the emotionally charged experience of the Jewish migrants who made Australia their home during World War II.

The three works together compose a rich tapestry drawn from themes of exile and return, and inspirations from the old world and the new. 


Britten String Quartet No.1 in D major Op.25
Paul Stanhope String Quartet No.2
Dvořák String Quartet No.13 in G major Op.106

Duration: approximately 2 hours, including interval

Ticket Info

Standard $85
Concession $62
Under 30 $30

Save when you purchase a subscription to all three Australian String Quartet 2017 performances at City Recital Hall. Find out more 

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at time of publication

Performance Dates & Times

Monday 14 August, 2017
7:00 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets