High Noon

Sydney Symphony Orchestra

High Noon

Concertmaster Andrew Haveron pairs an early Haydn symphony with one of Mozart’s sublime piano concertos, played by Orli Shaham.

Mozart didn’t write many piano concertos in minor keys, but when he did they are treasure troves of drama and powerful emotion. Piano Concerto No.24 is no exception: it sets off with menacing music from the orchestra, when the piano enters it brings a pensive mood. If you admire Mozart’s graceful simplicity, laughing melodies and elegance of form, this concerto will remind you of his darker side – even the brilliant finale has its shadows. No wonder Beethoven was envious! The concert ends with the second instalment in Haydn’s ‘Times of Day’ trilogy. Symphony No.7 is designed to show off the virtuosity of all the instruments in the orchestra, especially the concertmaster, who gets to play ‘diva’ in an elaborate parody of an Italian opera singer.


Mozart Piano Concerto No.24 in C minor, K491
Haydn Symphony No.7, Noon


Andrew Haveron conductor
Orli Shaham piano

Ticket Info


Standard $90


Standard $80
Concession $72
City Recital Hall Member $72
Group (8+) $64


Standard $70
Concession $63
City Recital Hall Member $63
Group (8+) $56


Standard $59
Concession $53
City Recital Hall Member $53
Group (8+) $47
Under 30 $39

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at the time of publication

Performance Dates & Times

Thursday 6 July, 2017
7:00 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets