Goldberg Variations

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Goldberg Variations

The Australian Chamber Orchestra presents Bach’s iconic keyboard work in a celebration that brings together the old and the new in an utterly unique and illuminating way. This is an Australian Premiere and a very special event in the ACO’s 2018 National Concert Season.

‘An Aria with Diverse Variations for the Harpsichord with Two Manuals, Composed for Music Lovers to Refresh their Spirits by Johann Sebastian Bach’ is now known simply as the Goldberg Variations. Legend has it that a student of Bach’s used to play the Variations to a friend who suffered from frequent bouts of insomnia. Despite its unwieldy title, there is no mistaking this body of work as one of the greatest pieces of music ever written.

Thomas Adès’ ‘Nightfalls’ will set the nocturnal scene before the ACO presents the Australian premiere of Canadian composer/ conductor Bernard Labadie’s string arrangement of Bach’s iconic keyboard work. A transformation of the original – which many of you will recognise – it offers audiences something fresh and inventive. 


Bach (arr. Richard Tognetti) Canons on a Goldberg Ground
Stravinsky Three Pieces for String Quartet
Thomas Adès (arr. strings) Nightfalls from The Four Quarters
Bach (arr. Bernard Labadie) Goldberg Variations (Australian Premiere)


Richard Tognetti director & violin
Erin Helyard keyboards
Australian Chamber Orchestra

Ticket Info


Standard $173
Concession $166
City Recital Hall Member $155.70
Group (10+) $163
Under 30 $50


Standard $168
Concession $145
City Recital Hall Member $145.80
Group (10+) $142
Under 30 $50


Standard $145
Concession $124
City Recital Hall Member $127.80
Group (10+) $122
Under 30 $50


Standard $101
Concession $91
City Recital Hall Member $89.10
Group (10+) $89
Under 30 $50


Standard $49
Concession $44
Under 30 $49

Save when you purchase a subscription to three or more Australian Chamber Orchestra 2018 performances at City Recital Hall. Find out more.

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6.60, Phone $8.25.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

City Recital Hall and the Australian Chamber Orchestra are the authorised ticket sellers for this event. City Recital Hall is under no obligation to honour tickets purchased via unauthorised re-sellers. If you attend an event with a ticket purchased via an unauthorised re-seller such as Ticketmaster Resale, Viagogo, Ticketbis, eBay, Gumtree, Tickets Australia or any other unauthorised seller, you may be refused entry to the event.

Details are accurate at time of publication.