Australian String Quartet


The Australian String Quartet travels across musical time in a program that encompasses baroque eloquence, classical grandeur and intense romanticism at the dawn of the 20th century. We begin with one of the earliest works for string quartet written by Italian master, Alessandro Scarlatti.  

Bartók, the undisputed giant of the 20th century string quartet, makes his first impression in the genre with this sumptuous first quartet. Though revelling in the musical world of late romanticism and the vivid colours of the impressionists, the vigour and rawness of this music is unmistakably Bartók.   

String quartets of the classical era are often described as musical conversations. Beethoven’s first Razumovsky quartet orates with passion, serious intent and grandeur of scale. Composed soon after the revolutionary Eroica Symphony, this quartet carries the same powerful sense of expressiveness and scope. 


Scarlatti Sonata a Quattro No.4 in D minor
Bartók String Quartet No.1
Beethoven String Quartet in F major Op.59 No.1

Duration: approximately 2 hours, including interval

Ticket Info

Standard $85
Concession $62
Under 30 $30

Save when you purchase a subscription to all three Australian String Quartet 2017 performances at City Recital Hall. Find out more 

A booking fee per transaction applies for this event as follows: Internet $6, Phone $8.
There is no booking fee for tickets purchased in person at the City Recital Hall Box Office.

Details are accurate at time of publication

Performance Dates & Times

Tuesday 14 November, 2017
7:00 pm
City Recital Hall

Buy Tickets