Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

ARTISTIC DIRECTOR: PAUL DYER AO

Travelling with sound, allowing emotions to be tossed in a beautiful maze of magical tales has led Artistic Director Paul Dyer’s inspiration for 2018. Musical fantasies and stories – some fiery, complex, lavish, suspenseful, romantic or bold – knit and navigate the six programs that will be performed by an exquisitely talented international cast of musicians.

Discover the Tales of Baroque.

2018 SEASON

Australian Brandenburg Orchestra 2018 season subscriptions are now available via their website and single tickets are on sale now via City Recital Hall's Box Office and website. Click here to view all of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra concerts currently on sale via our website and Box Office. 

Thomas Tallis' England

Wed 21 Feb 7pm, Fri 23 Feb 7pm, Wed 28 Feb 7pm, Fri 2 Mar 7pm, Sat 3 Mar 2pm, Sat 3 Mar 7pm

Fly with the Brandenburg across the patchwork fields of England with Ralph Vaughan Williams’ Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis. Weave through an epic journey of English masterworks by Purcell, Byrd and Gibbons alongside the angelic voice of countertenor Maximilian Riebl and the Brandenburg Choir.

The Harpist: Xavier De Maistre

Wed 2 May 7pm, Fri 4 May 7pm, Sat 5 May 2pm, Sat 5 May 7pm, Wed 9 May 7pm, Fri 11 May 7pm

One of the most sought-after soloists in the world Xavier de Maistre performs a passionate and inspiring program of beautiful works including French impressionist Ravel.

Xavier de Maistre, one of the most sought-after soloists in the world, will perform a buoyant program of breathtaking works, including the Brandenburg’s first performance of a work by French impressionist Ravel, in his own inspiring arrangements that let the harp sing with a distinctive new voice.

Karakorum: A Musical Journey

Wed 25 Jul 7pm, Fri 27 Jul 7pm, Sat 28 Jul 2pm, Sat 28 Jul 7pm, Wed 1 Aug 7pm, Fri 3 Aug 7pm

The La Camera delle Lacrime, joins the Brandenburg in a theatrical musical voyage from west to east on a range of rare, eclectic instruments, for a moving performance of forgotten hymns, melodies and chants.

The ‘medieval world folk ensemble’, La Camera delle Lacrime, joins the Brandenburg in a theatrical musical voyage that follows William of Rubruck’s quest to convert the Great Khan to Christianity in the Mongol capital, Karakorum. Cross from west to east, on a range of rare, eclectic instruments, for a moving performance of forgotten hymns, melodies and chants.

The Burning Violin

Wed 5 Sep 7pm, Fri 7 Sep 7pm, Sat 8 Sep 2pm, Sat 8 Sep 7pm, Wed 12 Sep 7pm, Fri 14 Sep 7pm

Fiery and passionate, Stefano Montanari plays baroque violin with exquisite precision, drawing in his fellow musicians and audiences with explosive playing and a complete command of the music.

Stefano Montanari is a true baroque violin star who is renowned for delivering thrilling performances. Be drawn in by the sounds of familiar pieces with a rebellious new perspective and Stefano’s mesmerising command of the music.

Lixsania And The Labyrinth

Wed 31 Oct 7pm, Fri 2 Nov 7pm, Sat 3 Nov 2pm, Sat 3 Nov 7pm, Wed 7 Nov 7pm, Fri 9 Nov 7pm

Be tantalized by charismatic Lixsania Fernandez’s energetic viola de gamba, while Brandenburg Concertmaster Shaun Lee-Chen masters the infamous The Harmonic Labyrinth.

Charismatic Lixsania Fernandez’s energetic viola de gamba leads the Brandenburg in this tantalizing twist on the Baroque. Brandenburg Concertmaster Shaun Lee-Chen performs Locatelli’s infamous violin concerto in D, The Harmonic Labyrinth. These masterful performers will make you want to stamp your feet and dance in the aisle.

Noël! Noël!

Wed 12 Dec 7pm, Sat 15 Dec 5pm, Sat 15 Dec 7pm

Unwrap what Christmas means to you. Experience pure spiritual joy with the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra’s much-anticipated classics and rare festive pieces.

Experience pure spiritual joy with the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra much-anticipated classics and rare festive pieces along with the angelic voices of the Brandenburg Choir. It’s the musical equivalent of discovering the Christmas market in Prague in your hometown.


 

Return To Key Presenter Page